Disrupt Routine – Except…

IMG_3991

Warning: verbal vulgarity calms me when I am upset!

I’m all about disrupting the routines of my life that were getting me down  – all that daily grind stuff that drove a physical time wedge between me, my head space, my family and life. But don’t mess (f#@*) with my coffee!

In the guesthouses where we have stayed, there has been no coffee unless we want the 8:00 breakfast option. As early birds, we’ve opted out of breakfast thinking we could get coffee on the road. Well, as it turns out, gas stations don’t open until 9:00 weekdays and 10:00 on Sundays, and there doesn’t seem to be such a thing as a cafe, diner or coffee shop either – at least not in the small towns (which, by the way are 300 km apart here in Iceland – bathrooms too). We are now going on three days in Iceland with the earliest coffee procured at 9:00. I think I may be dying – truly out of whack!

The routine of morning coffee consumption should be completely off-limits – free of any sort of disruption. In fact, every bedroom or kitchen needs coffee to automatically appear by 6:00 AM so the world can get up.

I can’t even get my butt ass out of bed unless I smell it! Jeff is usually up by 5:00, promptly makes coffee, by 5:15 it’s hot in the thermos and by 6:00 it’s little tendrils have wound their way down the hallway through the bedroom to my nose. This is when (and why!) I get up. With coffee in hand I sit on a soft chair of some sort – preferably a couch or stuffed armchair to consume my two cups. I am not a morning person and consuming coffee puts to sleep the monster that I really am.

While the two cup coffee routine is going on, I prefer nobody talk to me as I am completely incoherent. I am capable of input but not output: I can read emails, news or blogs, but don’t expect me to chat. Without coffee I simply cannot function – I cannot walk, talk….nothing….well, except growl, perhaps. Even worse, I suffer physical ailments if coffee arrives much past 7:00  – my head begins to pound, flulike symptoms ensue and all I want to do is go back to bed.

This disrupting routine business is really messing with my juju. I’ve been walking around Iceland a morning zombie barely able to stay awake, popping migraine meds by 9:00 and in tears by the time I am at the gas station counter begging for a few of their tiny cups. Coffee may be late and small in Iceland, but we learned that a LARGE order of French Fries here puts “Supersize Me” to shame!

IMG_3935
“Supersize Me” Icelandic French Fries!
IMG_3973
Boiling Mud Pots Hverir

IMG_3951 IMG_3953 IMG_3954 IMG_3955 IMG_3956 IMG_3958 IMG_3960 IMG_3961 IMG_3964 IMG_3970 IMG_3971

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Disrupt Routine – Except…

  1. Just recently we viewed a tv show telling the world at large that tourists are not welcome in Iceland. Apparently, tourists seem to prompt too any changes, unwelcome changes like perhaps coffee instead of tea? Instant coffee will not suffice?
    About toilets…no comment! Love, R&R

    Like

    1. I suspect Iceland will feel some growing pains…the tourist moola and the strength of Iceland Air are pulling and pushing. Tourism will continue to burst and coffee will arrive a little earlier, I suspect!

      Like

Leave a Reply

